a little twist

So this is very exciting!  What I am talking about is the opportunity to learn something new as part for my Networked Learning Project.  The catch is that I will only be able to use the internet as a resource.  This is definitely a great way to explore many options that are available online that can help me succeed and accomplish this project.

I had taken a break from numerous readings and constructions of blog posts and I had a moment to think about art projects I wanted to do with students for the coming school year.  I happened to be flipping old issues of Scholastic Art magazine and Jeff Koon’s balloon dog scu2599758558_1ec083b86b_mlpture caught my attention.  Now in now way shape or form was I going to try to construct a stainless steel sculpture.  Instead, I’m going to take a more achievable option which is to learn how to make a balloon dog.  I remember as a kid walking around in an amusement park being fascinated with the idea of a balloon being twisted to create an object.  At a young age you think, “How’d they do that?” “Won’t the balloon pop?”  As I consider this cool project, I definitely will use any available online resources to  construct a balloon dog.  Good thing I have my trusted friend Google who has always been on my side when I have questions that need to be answered.  I will also most likely rely on my other friend YouTube to actually show me how it is done.  I will learn how to twist a balloon and manipulate the inflated balloon to construct a balloon dog.  I believe I can do this!  As an art teacher, being crafty is part of the job and I am ready for this challenge.  At least this won’t be a messy project.

 

2 thoughts on “a little twist

  1. wiobyrne says:

    You’re not going after the stainless steel structure? You should team up with Josh and bring your projects together. 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment